FRIB'S Nuclear Science Research Supporting the National Nuclear Security Administration Enters Eleventh Year

The FRIB Laboratory is entering the eleventh year of its nuclear science research in the Nuclear Science and Security Consortium (NSSC). Funded by the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA), eleven universities comprise NSSC:

  • Air Force Institute of Technology
  • George Washington University
  • Michigan State University
  • North Carolina State University
  • Texas A&M University
  • University of California, Berkeley
  • University of California, Davis
  • University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • University of New Mexico
  • University of Tennessee, Knoxville

NSSC includes five national laboratory partners: Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and Sandia National Laboratories.

NSSC is dedicated to advancing research in nuclear science and security and training the next generation of nuclear scientists and engineers.

Since its founding in 2011, NSSC has contributed to fundamental nuclear science research and to the development of new technologies in radiation detection and nuclear engineering.

The consortium will carry out research and development in five research focus areas:

  • nuclear physics and nuclear data;
  • radiochemistry and nuclear chemistry;
  • nuclear material science;
  • radiation detection;
  • nuclear chemical engineering and nuclear engineering.

MSU has six faculty members, two postdoctoral researchers, seven graduate students, and two undergraduate students in NSCC.