FRIB Theory Fellow

The FRIB Theory Alliance is seeking outstanding candidates for an FRIB Theory Fellowship. The successful candidate will conduct independent or collaborative research at Partner Institution on nuclear structure, astrophysics, and/or fundamental symmetries relevant to the Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB). The FRIB Theory Alliance is a consortium of universities and national laboratories actively engaged in theoretical research in FRIB science. FRIB will be a new national user facility for nuclear science, funded by the DOE Office of Science and operated by Michigan State University.

The FRIB Theory Fellowship is a 2-yr position with the possibility of renewal for a maximum of 5 years. The initial stipend is $75k and this position has an annual travel budget of up to $5k.  This FRIB Theory Fellow will be an employee of Michigan State University stationed at a Partner Institution by mutual agreement. The successful candidate must demonstrate great promise for high scientific achievement in FRIB science and is expected to advance into open faculty or permanent staff positions in the field within 5 years of their initial appointment.

The Partner Institutions and host contact information are:

Argonne National Laboratory – Robert Wiringa:

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory – Erich Ormand:

Institute for Nuclear Theory, University of Washington – Sanjay Reddy:


MSU employees receive excellent benefits including health/dental plans, a generous retirement plan, and educational assistance.

MSU is committed to achieving excellence through cultural diversity. The university actively encourages applications and/or nominations of women, persons of color, veterans and person with disabilities.

For immediate consideration, send resume, research statement, publication list, and names and contact information for three references to Dr. Erich Ormand, Chair of the national FRIB Theory Fellow search committee ( Applicants should also communicate their interest with specific Partner Institutions listed above.

Deadline for applications:  October 27, 2017.